Board of Directors

Anthony F. Griffiths

Anthony F. Griffiths is an independent business consultant and corporate director. He is a director of our publicly traded subsidiary Fairfax India Holdings Corporation and is also the Chairman of Novadaq Technologies Inc. and a director of Corporate Catalyst Acquisition Inc. Mr. Griffiths was the Chairman of Mitel Corporation, a telecommunications company from 1987 to 1993, and from 1991 to 1993 assumed the positions of President and Chief Executive Officer in addition to that of Chairman.

Robert J. Gunn

Robert J. Gunn is an independent business consultant and corporate director. Mr. Gunn is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of our Northbridge subsidiary and served as the Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors of our Northbridge subsidiary from 2004 to 2014. Mr. Gunn previously served as the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Operating Officer of Royal & SunAlliance plc, a diversified insurance company in London, England, from 2002 to 2003 and 2001 to 2002, respectively. He also served as Group Director, Americas, of Royal & SunAlliance from 1998-2001. From 1990 to 2001, Mr. Gunn held the positions of President and Chief Executive Officer at Royal & SunAlliance Canada.

The Right Honourable David Johnston

The Right Honourable David Johnston is a corporate director. Mr. Johnston has held a number of distinguished management and leadership positions in academia and government, including acting as the 28th Governor General of Canada from 2010 to 2017. Mr. Johnston has held a number of academic positions, including as principal and vice-chancellor of McGill University for fifteen years and as the president and vice-chancellor of the University of Waterloo. Mr. Johnston has also served on numerous provincial and federal task forces and committees, acted as president of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (now Universities Canada) and of the Conférence des recteurs et des principaux des universités du Québec. Mr. Johnston is a member of the Order of Canada and was promoted to companion, the Order’s highest level, in 1997. Mr. Johnston was also the first non-U.S. citizen to be elected chair of Harvard University’s board of overseers. Mr. Johnston holds degrees from Harvard, Cambridge and Queen’s. Mr. Johnston is also a director of Horizon North Logistics Inc.

Karen L. Jurjevich

Ms. Jurjevich is Principal of Branksome Hall, a leading private International Baccalaureate (IB) World School for girls located in Toronto, and is also the CEO and Principal of Branksome Hall Global. Prior to joining Branksome Hall in 1998, Ms. Jurjevich was a Principal in the Toronto District School Board and, from 1988 to 1992, taught at Havergal College in Toronto, Ontario. Prior thereto, Ms. Jurjevich held a number of teaching positions and was previously a member of the Board of the Canadian Accredited Independent Schools, the Board of the Conference of Independent Schools of Ontario, the International Baccalaureate, North American Independent Schools Task Force. Ms. Jurjevich recently graduated from the Stanford Executive Program at the Stanford Graduate School of Business.

R. William McFarland

R. William McFarland is our Lead Director. Mr. McFarland is the Chair of the Board of Directors of The Conference Board of Canada and was the Chief Executive Officer of PricewaterhouseCoopers Canada from 2011 to June 2018. Prior to that, Mr. McFarland was a member of the executive team at PricewaterhouseCoopers Canada from 2005 to 2011, having been admitted to the partnership in 1992 and having led the Greater Toronto Area audit practice from 2002 to 2005. Mr. McFarland is a Chartered Professional Accountant and a fellow of the Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario.

Christine N. McLean

Christine N. McLean is the Director of Research at Sprucegrove Investment Management, a private investment advisor that provides discretionary investment management services to institutional investors. Ms. McLean joined Sprucegrove in 2004 as an Investment Analyst, specializing in global equities. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration (Finance) from the University of Richmond, Virginia. Ms. McLean is the daughter of V. Prem Watsa.

Timothy R. Price

Timothy R. Price has been the Chairman of Brookfield Funds, a division of Brookfield Asset Management Inc. since 1997 and was Chairman of Brookfield Financial Corporation until December 2004. Mr. Price is a director of Canadian Tire Corporation and serves on the St. Michael's Hospital Foundation Board and the Dean's Advisory Board at the Schulich School of Business.

Brandon W. Sweitzer

Brandon W. Sweitzer is the Dean of the School of Risk Management, St. John's University and a director of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. He is a director of our subsidiaries OdysseyRe and Falcon Insurance Company. Mr. Sweitzer became Chief Financial Officer of Marsh Inc. in 1981, and was its President from 1999 through 2000. From 1996 to 1999, Mr. Sweitzer served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Guy Carpenter & Company.

Lauren C. Templeton

Lauren C. Templeton is the founder and president of Templeton & Phillips Capital Management, LLC, a value investing boutique located in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Ms. Templeton received a B.A. in Economics from the University of the South. She is the founder and former president of the Southeastern Hedge Fund Association, Inc. based in Atlanta, Georgia. Ms. Templeton currently serves on the Board of Trustees at the Baylor School, The Board of Trustees at the Bright School, the Atlas Economic Research Foundation Board of Overseers and the Board of Directors at Fairfax India Holdings Corporation.

Benjamin P. Watsa

Benjamin P. Watsa is the President of Marval Capital Ltd. and a sub-advisor to Lissom Investment Management Inc. Mr. Watsa has been actively engaged in the investment industry for 17 years. He currently manages global small and mid-cap. investments through pooled funds and a separately managed account using a concentrated, conservative, long-term value approach. Prior to working in the investment management industry, Mr. Watsa spent five years in New York as an investment banker in the Financial Institutions Group at Banc of America Securities and at Cochran Caronia Waller. Mr. Watsa serves as a director of Dalton Kizuna Fund Ltd. and Dalton India Fund Ltd., sits on the advisory board of Impression Ventures, and serves as a director and Vice Chair of the Investment Committee for the Rideau Hall Foundation which supports the Office of the Governor General of Canada. Mr. Watsa holds a BA from Hillsdale College and a Chartered Investment Manager designation and is registered with the Ontario Securities Commission as a Portfolio Manager. Mr. Watsa is the son of V. Prem Watsa.

V. Prem Watsa

V. Prem Watsa has been the Chairman of our Board of Directors and our Chief Executive Officer since 1985. He has served as Vice President of Hamblin Watsa Investment Counsel Ltd. since 1985. Mr. Watsa is the Chairman of our publicly traded subsidiaries Fairfax India Holdings Corporation and Helios Fairfax Partners Corporation. Mr. Watsa is also a director of Blackberry Limited. Mr. Watsa formerly served as Vice President of GW Asset Management from 1983 to 1984 and in various positions, ultimately as a Vice President, with Confederation Life Investment Counsel from 1974 to 1983.

William C. Weldon

William C. Weldon is a corporate director. He is a member of the Board of Directors of ExxonMobil Corporation, CVS Health Corporation and HeartFlow, Inc. and serves as the Chairman of Board of Trustees for Quinnipiac University. Mr. Weldon was the Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Johnson & Johnson from 2002 to 2012. Mr. Weldon is a former member of the Board of Directors of JP Morgan Chase & Co. and The Chubb Corporation.